Private Equity/Health, fin services, consumer
TPG (India) logo

TPG (India)

Buyout + growth + impact fund research profile

TPG is a global growth and buyout investor with a long-running India practice led by Puneet Bhatia. Its India record spans financial services, healthcare, consumer and technology, with value creation tied to scale, operational support and thematic growth.

At a glance

Founded
1992
Footprint
Fort Worth / Mumbai
Stage
Buyout + growth + impact

Research profile

Read the manager in sequence.

Open a section to inspect the evidence. The first view starts with the investment point of view; the rest stays quiet until you need it.

Investment lens

TPG (India) uses a buyout + growth + impact approach across Health, fin services, consumer.

Current evidence

TPG closed Asia VIII at approximately $5.3 billion in 2024 and announced India investments including Altimetrik in 2024, Siemens Gamesa’s India and Sri Lanka onshore-wind business in 2025, and the TCS HyperVault data-center partnership in 2025. These are manager or company announcements; India-only fund returns remain not publicly disclosed.

Strategy

Buyout + growth + impact

Sector focus

Health, fin services, consumer

AIF structure context

Indian private equity, growth, buyout and many real-asset strategies are commonly structured as Category II AIFs. Verify the specific vehicle and registration before investing.

Current signal

TPG closed Asia VIII at approximately $5.3 billion in 2024 and announced India investments including Altimetrik in 2024, Siemens Gamesa’s India and Sri Lanka onshore-wind business in 2025, and the TCS HyperVault data-center partnership in 2025. These are manager or company announcements; India-only fund returns remain not publicly disclosed.

Investor questions

TPG (India) research questions

What is TPG (India)'s investment strategy?

TPG (India) is covered in Rupeia's private equity research universe. The current public record describes the strategy as Buyout + growth + impact, with a sector focus of Health, fin services, consumer. The profile should be read with the linked source trail and Typical route: Category II AIF context.

What portfolio evidence is available for TPG (India)?

The profile displays only company or asset names attributable to TPG (India) in the reviewed public sources: Poonawalla Housing Finance, SCHOTT Poonawalla, RR Kabel, UPL, Manipal Hospitals, Shriram Group companies, Vishal Retail. It does not represent a complete current portfolio unless the manager has published one.

What is known about TPG (India)'s performance or track record?

Puneet Bhatia’s disclosed India track record includes Matrix Laboratories, Vishal Retail, Shriram group companies, Manipal Hospitals, Jana Bank, UPL, RR Kabel, Reliance Jio, Reliance Retail and Fractal. The reviewed sources do not disclose India fund-level IRR or DPI. These signals are not a substitute for fund- and vintage-specific net performance, realised distributions and audited or administrator-supported reporting.

What are TPG (India)'s fund size, fees and minimum investment?

Public fund size: TPG reported $23.1B Asia-Pacific AUM at December 31, 2025; TPG Capital Asia VIII was reported at more than $5B. Neither figure is an India-only PE vehicle size.. Public terms or access information: Growth and buyout investing through TPG Capital, alongside Rise and other impact platforms. India cheque sizes and reserve policy are not consistently disclosed.. Current fees, minimum commitment and availability must be confirmed for the exact named vehicle in its fund documents.

Who is on TPG (India)'s investment team?

The current source record names Puneet Bhatia. Verify current roles, departures, attribution and key-person provisions before relying on the team history for a new commitment.

What risks should be reviewed before investing with TPG (India)?

Review entry valuation, leverage, governance rights, concentration, execution of the value-creation plan and exit timing. The current open diligence point is: India-only allocation and fund-level performance remain not publicly disclosed; the manager operates across private equity, growth, impact, credit and real assets..

What is the latest public update on TPG (India)?

2025-11-20: TPG closed Asia VIII at approximately $5.3 billion in 2024 and announced India investments including Altimetrik in 2024, Siemens Gamesa’s India and Sri Lanka onshore-wind business in 2025, and the TCS HyperVault data-center partnership in 2025. These are manager or company announcements; India-only fund returns remain not publicly disclosed.

Next step

Need this manager reviewed against your mandate?

Share the allocation question, ticket size, liquidity constraints and existing exposure. Rupeia can determine whether this profile needs a deeper decision-support brief.

Request independent diligence →